Pickling

I made pickles for the first time last week (amazing how one can live without such basic skills these days).  Leaning on Preserving Food without Freezing or Canning, I tossed my cucumbers with salt, fresh dill (gone to seed) and sugar; then I covered them in boiled vinegar and water (equal parts).  The dill and my choice of apple cider vinegar were both deviations from the recipe.  After they cooled, I put the jars in the refrigerator, waited a week and then ate them.

The whole jar.

I was pretty pleased with the pickling.  The consistency and taste were an odd combination of bread-and-butter and dill.  The same night I also broke into the sauerkraut I put away late last year.  Unlike the pickles, the sauerkraut was naturally fermented – only salt, cabbage and a few bay leaves went into it.  The flavor was more complex than your standard sauerkraut, but not quite right.  I believe it may have spent too much time fermenting, and I know  juniper berries would have been a more traditional flavoring.

I’m still eager to try genuine, naturally fermented dill pickles – perhaps that’s my next project.  Of course, the big question is: how many jars?

5 thoughts on “Pickling

  1. Nice! I am making fermented pickles for the first time (first time pickling anything, really) this year. They smell fantastic. Sauerkraut is next up, sometime this week … I just have to find a big enough container.

  2. Here’s the pickle recipe:
    cucumbers
    1 1/2 tbls. salt
    1 1/2 tbls. sugar
    dill
    2-3 garlic cloves
    one small onion, finely chopped
    2 cups vinegar

    In a clean, one-quart canning jar, combine all of the ingredients, except vinegar. Boil equal parts water and vinegar and then pour this into the jar, while still hot. Close the jar immediately.

Leave a Reply

