Roasted tomato, cipollini, and white bean ‘stew’

I guess it just comes down to the fact that I really like onions. I did not really realize this. However, I keep finding one that I love more than the last! In the spring, Tani Creek had this wonderful green variety called ‘walking onions.’ I was so sad when they were no longer at the farmer’s market. (So sad, in fact, that I tried to plant a few and coax them into multiplying. No luck.) Now that it’s full-fledged summer here, my all-time favorite onion is out. All hail the cipollini! Here is the way that I most frequently enjoy them.

2 cups dried cannellini beans
olive oil
about 10-12 cherry tomatoes (or larger ones, cut into chunks)
4 cloves of garlic
6 or so cipollini onions (halved, if large)
parmesan cheese

Soak the cannellini beans in the morning. When it’s time for dinner, drain, rinse, and put them on the stove to simmer in stock or water. (Add a bay leaf, if you have one.) The beans should simmer for about 45 minutes or until tender. (Don’t let them get mushy.) About fifteen minutes before your beans are done, toss the tomatoes, garlic, and peeled cipollini, with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast on a sheet pan in the oven on 425F for about 15 minutes or until the cipollini and garlic are caramelized. After removing from the oven, flatten the garlic cloves with the back of a spoon and then add this delicious mixture to your beans. (Since you’ve ‘squished’ the garlic, it will distribute nicely.) Top with cheese, and serve for a quick meal. Sometimes I spoon it over a small pasta or over a crusty bread.

2 thoughts on “Roasted tomato, cipollini, and white bean ‘stew’

  1. How did you eat the walking onions? What parts of the onions were they selling? In April we planted some from the 4-H kids at the market, and we harvested some of the greens for scallions and then let them go to seed (go to bulb?) and self-plant for the second season. I don’t know if I should pay more attention to them than that, or when, or if I should harvest more, or when …

  2. Ooh, I wish I could tell you. Mine never did anything. They were selling the whole thing, which is why I thought it might start to grow. Didn’t. I used them for anything I’d use a scallion for. Quiche. On salad. Put some in ravioli (before I found my new love – the garlic scape, which made even better ravioli.)

Leave a Reply

