Cranberry Chestnut Dressing

I’m posting a dressing recipe now so that, if you haven’t already done so, you can take this as a reminder to start saving your ‘dead bread.’ Dry out any bread ends you have, cube or tear to your preference, and throw in a bag in the freezer. Come Thanksgiving, hopefully you’ll have enough. If you’re cooking for a crowd, you’ll have to intentionally bake some loaves and dry them out a few days ahead of time.

Dressing/stuffing is a very personal matter. There have been Thanksgivings at my house where we’ve had more than three different kinds, based on peoples’ traditions and preferences. This is my version. I think it’s very pretty and the chestnuts give you something extra to chew, but get soft, so they don’t distract you with crunch.

Chestnuts are the hardest ingredient to source locally at Thanksgiving. Unless some show up at a Seattle market, I’m using some from PCC grown in Oregon. At least that’s better than Italy.

enough bread cubes to fill a 12X18 baking dish (about 2 loaves or 20 cups)cranberry chestnut stuffing
6 tbls. butter
2 onions, diced
about 5 stalks celery, diced
about 5 fresh sage leaves, chopped
1 bunch parsley, leaves chopped
5 c. chicken stock
1-2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. pepper
1 – 1  1/2 pounds chestnuts (peeled, see below)
1 cup cranberries, chopped coarsely

  1. Melt butter over medium-low and saute onions and celery for ten minutes.
  2. Add stock. Cook for 5 minutes.
  3. In a large bowl, mix remaining ingredients with bread and pour over stock. Add your stock a little at a time, so that you can evaluate the wetness of the stuffing. You may want to adjust the liquid according to your preference.
  4. Bake covered at 350F for 25 minutes. Uncover and bake until brown, about 30 more minutes.

Notes:

  • To peel chestnuts, carefully score each one with an x on the flat side. Drop in boiling water for 20 minutes. Cool and then peel of the skins. You can store this in the refrigerator in an airtight container for 2 to 3 days.
  • Usually, traditional along with Thanksgiving, is the event of me slicing my fingers while trying to score chestnuts. (This makes the rest of the preparation extremely not fun.) This year I splurged and bought “The Chestnutter” at City Kitchens. Yes, it’s a gadget that I will potentially use once a year, but hopefully it will save me from stiches. (And who knows, maybe I’ll take it home for Christmas and roast chestnuts over an open fire. Security had enough problems with my pasta roller last time I flew, I bet they’ve never seen The Chestnutter.. ..)
5 thoughts on “Cranberry Chestnut Dressing

  1. I believe if it’s not stuffed into a cavity it is called ‘dressing’ and not ‘stuffing’. Just trying to keep you honest :-)

  2. Howdy! I understand this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours require a lot
    of work? I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my
    diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  3. Very good website you have here but I was curious about
    if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get responses from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you!

  4. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Ie.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get
    the issue resolved soon. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

