Summer Salad

You wouldn’t know it from the weather, but it’s summer in the Pacific Northwest. One of the great joys of summer is a perfectly ripe tomato – something that has been particularly challenging this summer. But if you can find them locally, tossing them with cucumbers in a light vinaigrette is close to mid-day perfection.

Tomato and Cucumber Salad

(just enough for 1)

5 small tomatoes, quartered (Butler Green Farm)
1/4 cup purslane leaves (Persephone Farm)
4 leaves basil, chopped (Terra Bella)
1/2 cucumber, quartered and chopped (Persephone Farm)
1/4 green pepper chopped (Laughing Crow Farm)
some cheese (a sheep’s milk feta is incredible, but this time I used a goat cheese from Port Madison Goat Farm and Dairy)
salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp olive oil
1tsp white wine vinegar

Whisk vinegar into oil in a large bowl. Combine rest of ingredients and toss gently until coated.

2 thoughts on “Summer Salad

  1. This looks delicious. I love the idea of including purslane. Although I’ve tasted it in my garden, and have plenty of it, I’ve yet to include it in a salad. I just got back from a couple of weeks in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont, and one of my best days was making sheep cheese with a local farmer/farmstead cheesemaker. Although I didn’t get to make the feta (I made Coomersdale and Ben Nevis), I did pick some up to take home. It’s unbelievably delicious. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Wow. That sounds like an incredible experience. :)
    Feta is on my to-do list. I have the ingredients but can’t seem to get to it. Hopefully, soon.

Leave a Reply

