The Best Way to Cook Fresh Beans

I’ve had a fresh food revelation. I’m really not exaggerating. This meal that I had was so utterly inspiring that it changed the way I look at this food. Stand back, I’m talking about beans. FRESH BEANS! This year, we grew a test patch of cannellini beans and, based on their outstanding flavor, we’ll be growing a lot more next year. I feel like the world has been keeping a secret from me. There is nothing quite like a fresh bean. Who knew?

We’ve since bought fresh cranberry beans from the market and have eaten them on pasta, on toast, and in soup. Delicious! The biggest surprise, however, was that we shelled some overripe green beans, cooked those in a similar way, and found they were almost as good as the cannellini. After several pickings, I thought that we were going to tear out the green bean plants and feed them to the chickens, but R. took the time to shell all the large, woody beans, and I’m so glad that he did. What a great meal!

Cook your fresh beans gently and really taste them towards the end. You’ll know to take them off the heat when they are creamy (but not yet mushy.)

Adapted from one of our favorite go to books, Franny’s.

Serves 4 or more

1 1/2 pounds fresh beans
3 cups water
2 tbls. olive oil
4 sage leaves
2 small rosemary sprigs
4 garlic cloves
1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1/4 tsp. pepper

Add all of the ingredients to a medium pot. Bring to a simmer over medium- high heat. Then, turn the heat down to low and cook until tender, about 40 minutes. Begin to taste them at the 30 minute mark.

Drain the beans and serve over toast or pasta. Reserve the cooking liquid for a nice soup or use some of it to sauce the beans.

